Support the Guilford Historical Society
Founded in 1973 the Guilford Historical Society is a membership group, whose purpose is to preserve for posterity items and places which serve as resources to study and interpret our community, its environment, and its people. Its museum, located in the original town hall, holds an extensive collection of written records, photographs, and historic objects. In addition the Society owns and maintains the 1837 Universalist Meeting House and the Brick Guilford Center School House. These, along with the Broad Brook Grange and the Guilford Free Library as well as several old houses, represent the core of historic Guilford Center. But Guilford is made up of many neighborhoods and villages, each with a unique history to explore.
The town has many more historic sites including four more churches, a covered bridge, a historic timber crib dam, numerous one room school houses, and farms which have been in existence since the first colonial settlers arrived at the end of the French and Indian War. There are even traces of the original inhabitants, believed to be members of the Sokoki tribe of the Western Abenakis. Through its programs, work with school classes, publications, and celebrations the members of the society work to educate and inspire the wider community.
Organized by Guilford Vermont Historical Society