Youth Lesson I and II

Who should take this course: 

Beginner sailors, ages 8-13. Students must be able to swim with the aid of a life jacket and have the physical ability to right a capsized pram.

What will students learn? 

Our highly trained staff uses the US Sailing instructional system in an open, interactive, and fun environment. Students learn basic sailing and safety skills. Instruction begins with some basic land-based instruction, but students are typically on the water day one. Students will sail the Optimist Pram solo, but the instructors are always nearby in the outboard motor safety boats. This 8-foot boat with a single 35 square foot sail is an ideal youth training boat and is used worldwide for training and racing. Students will learn the basic parts of the sailboat, knot tying, how to rig and de-rig the pram, launching and docking, sailing upwind and downwind, and will practice crew overboard recovery. As the class progresses, additional games and activities are interspersed throughout the sessions to keep the action going and provide a fun group experience.

2024 SCHEDULE

Session 1 (Intro I)
6/10/24 – 6/13/24 Mon-Thur
6/17/24 – 6/20/24 Mon-Thur
9:00 AM – 12 PM

Session 2 (Intro II)
6/10/24 – 6/13/24 Mon-Thur
6/17/24 – 6/20/24 Mon-Thur
1:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Session 3 (Intro I)
6/24/24 – 6/28/24 Mon-Fri
7/1/24 – 7/3/24 Mon-Wed
9:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Session 5 (Intro I)
7/8/24 – 7/11/24 Mon-Thur
7/15/24 – 7/18/24 Mon-Thur
9:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Session 6 (Intro II)
7/8/24 – 7/11/24 Mon-Thur
7/15/24 – 7/18/24 Mon-Thur
1:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Session 7 (Intro I)
7/22/24 – 7/25/24 Mon-Thur
7/29/24 – 8/1/24 Mon-Thur
9:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Session 9 (Intro II)
8/5/24 – 8/8/24 Mon-Thur
8/12/24 – 8/15/24 Mon-Thur
9:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Verified

Organized by Saginaw Bay Community Sailing Association
501(c)(3) Public Charity · EIN 38-3246877
[email protected]